Former Vice Chief of the Defence Staff joins Royal Roads University Board of Governors

Jean Macgregor
Vice-Admiral (Ret’d) Bruce Donaldson, C.M.M., C.D.

The former Vice Chief of the Defence Staff joins the Royal Roads University Board of Governors for a three-year term effective April 16, 2016.

Vice-Admiral (Ret’d) Bruce Donaldson, C.M.M., C.D., retired as second-in-command of the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) in 2013 after more than 35 years in the military.

“The Board of Governors is pleased to appoint Bruce Donaldson to the Royal Roads University board,” says Board Chair and Chancellor Wayne Strandlund. “His exemplary leadership and strategic insights will benefit the board’s effective operations immeasurably.”

Donaldson managed the more than $20B Defence Services Programme and the long-range strategic and capability planning for the CAF as Vice Chief of the Defence Staff. Previously, he commanded domestic and continental operations for the CAF as Commander Canada Command during the 2010 Vancouver Games and the G8/G20 summits. He served for 18 months as Director of the Strategic Joint Staff and for two years in command of the Canadian Pacific Fleet.

“Royal Roads is proud of its military heritage and the legacy of 55 years as a military college with over 3,000 ex cadet alumni. I am delighted to welcome Vice-Admiral Bruce Donaldson to the board,” says President and Vice-Chancellor Allan Cahoon. “He is a distinguished Canadian leader who I look forward to working with as Royal Roads continues to distinguish itself as Canada’s most innovative, demand-based post-secondary institution.”

Also joining the board this month is Bachelor of Arts in Justice Studies Program student Kelvin Mkwate, elected by students.

Prof. Charles Krusekopf has been re-elected by the faculty to serve a second three-year term on the board effective April 1, 2016.

Rear-Admiral (Ret’d) Nigel Greenwood, C.M.M., C.D., completed a three-year term on April 15, 2016 and student member Andrea Kerr completed a one-year term on March 31, 2016.

“Both outgoing board members have set a high standard for their dedication to the university and service to the board,” says Strandlund. “We are most grateful to them.”