Prof. Ann Dale named a WXN 2016 Canada's Most Powerful Women: Top 100 Award recipient

Royal Roads University is pleased to announce Prof. Ann Dale has been named a Women's Executive Network (WXN) 2016 Canada's Most Powerful Women: Top 100 Award Winner.

The awards celebrate the accomplishments of Canada’s top female executives as well as their organizations and networks. Dale, who will receive the Sun Life Financial Trailblazers & Trendsetters Award, will be honoured at a gala celebration at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre Nov. 24.

Dale has received national and international recognition for her research of sustainable community development, serving as the Royal Roads’ Canada Research Chair in this field for 10 years. She is an environmental activist and innovator who leads MC3, a climate change adaptation and mitigation research program studying best practices and innovations throughout British Columbia.

“As Royal Roads University’s first Canada Research Chair in Sustainable Community Development, Prof. Dale advanced the climate change mitigation agenda, and did so in ways that brought multiple voices and disciplines to the table,” says Royal Roads University President Allan Cahoon. “We are proud to see her vision and influence recognized by this award.”

The Top 100 Awards serve to recognize talented leaders in the private, public and not-for-profit sectors and to inspire the current and next generation to push the boundaries of what’s possible.

“We are pleased that Prof. Dale is being recognized nationally for her trailblazing contribution to sustainable communities as well for her significant teaching and research mentorship for students across the country,” said Royal Roads University Vice-President Academic and Provost Stephen Grundy.

Dale joins a prestigious community of past award winners and iconic trailblazers, including author Margaret Atwood, astronaut Roberta Bondar and former Governor General of Canada Michaëlle Jean.

The full list of WXN’s 2016 Canada's Most Powerful Women: Top 100 Award Winners can be found at