2015 Kelly Outstanding Teaching Awards


Foundational to the RRU Learning and Teaching model is a strong commitment to educational excellence from dedicated scholar-practitioners. The Kelly Outstanding Teaching Award, established in 2005, recognizes a RRU faculty or associate faculty member who is deemed, primarily through student evaluations, to be representative of outstanding teachers, and someone who makes a positive contribution to the overall health and culture of the university. In addition, this year sees recipients being recognized in two new categories: the Team Teaching Award and Outstanding Workshop Facilitation Award

It gives me great pleasure to announce the recipients of the 2015 Kelly Awards. 

The Kelly Outstanding Teaching Award is awarded to Dr. Eva Malisius. Eva, a faculty member in the School of Humanitarian Studies, impressed the selection committee with her ability to create a safe collaborative learning environment, especially for novice online learners; willingness to empower learners to reach their full potential; and willingness to extend her mentoring role beyond the classroom as students continue their learning journey.

The recipients of the inaugural Team Teaching Award are Marjorie Busse, Carollyne Conlinn, Alison Hendren, and Scott Richardson from the Graduate Certificate in Executive Coaching program. This team impressed the committee with their ability to create an authentic learning experience that recognizes learner individuality and diversity; to develop trust within cohorts in a fun way; and their willingness to examine their teaching process individually and as a team and how it addresses learner needs.

Dr. Paul Mohapel has been chosen as the first recipient of the Outstanding Workshop Facilitation Award. A Continuing Studies facilitator and School of Leadership Studies associate faculty member, Paul impressed the committee with his ability to create interactive and engaging learning environments; to value the experiences students bring with them and integrate them into the learning process; and to see the possibility and potential of each student.  

An awards presentation will take place during the Campus Conversation at 1 p.m. on Monday in the Quarterdeck.

The committee would also like to acknowledge all nominees in each category for their superb contributions to teaching at RRU. Members of the committee carefully reviewed all submissions and, without exception, were very impressed with the quality, depth and passionate commitment to teaching evident within each of the nominees’ materials, making the task of the Committee very challenging.

Many thanks to Mickie Noble (Chair), Zhenyi Li, Frances Jorgensen, Mary-Anne Neal, David Stevenson, and Garth Campbell for serving on this year’s selection committee.

Steve Grundy
VP Academic and Provost