2018 Holiday Adopt-a-Family

  Public
By: 
s1langille

December is here and Christmas is near, which means it's once again time to turn our attention to helping those less fortunate over the festive season. We are organizing our annual Adopt-a-Family initiative again and we thank you for any and all support for the project.

Our objective is to provide wish list gifts, dinner fixings and necessities that will make the holidays a little brighter for several local families. The deadline to drop off items is Dec. 20, 2018.

Royal Roads community members who wish to donate cash to help purchase items for the families can drop off funds to Patti at the Recreation Centre or Shelley at Arbutus 124. 

Contributions will be collected at the Recreation Centre or, new this year, at the secondary drop box located in the kitchen area of Arbutus, by Dec. 20. Please contact Shelley at ext. 4119 or Patti at ext. 2700 if you have any questions.

Families and their wish lists:

Family 1

Boy: 14 years old, tall and very thin, likes basketball. Bus pass would also be helpful.

Mom: Pregnant and due in Dec. Clothing size small. Needs things for baby including sleepers, diapers and blankets. A bus pass would be very helpful.

Family 2

Boy: 3.5 years old, clothing size 4T, likes Spiderman and Paw Patrol, cars, transformers, Lego.

Girl: 13 years old, shirts/sweaters size medium, likes art (art supplies) and makeup.

Mom: Spa/relaxation items like bubble bath, bath bomb, candles, diffuser, etc.

Dad: Size large sweater or jacket, gas card or gift card.

Family 3 

Boy: Seven years old in Grade 2. Likes arts and crafts, drawing, Lego and the video game, Bendy and the Ink Machine.

Girl: 10 years old in Grade 5. Likes make-upnail polish and other girly things.

Mom: Hasn't asked for anything. Perhaps a bus pass would be helpful.

Dad: Hasn't asked for anything. Gas card would come in handy.

Grandpa: Shoe size 9.

Grandma: Likes fuzzy nightgowns (size medium).

Auntie: Hasn't asked for anything. Gift cards are a good option.

Family 4

Boy: 14 years old, size 14/16. Would like art supplies, drawing pencils, charcoal, sketchbooks and painting supplies (specifically water color is his latest interest). He loves reading/books and likes anime.

Boy: 13 years old, size 16. Likes hands-on activities like building electronic gadgets. Enjoys computer/programming sort of things. He has been learning to solder. Also likes woodworking crafts and music, specifically Twenty One Pilots.

Boy: 10 years old, size 12. He likes sciences/experimentation, crafts like woodworking, magnets, maze books, clock radio. He also loves cats.

They could all use slippers (Shoe sizes men’s 10, 10 and 6 respectively and warm housecoats as their house is pretty chilly in the winter.

Mom: interested in tie-dying/fabric dying lately and would love an opportunity to give that a try. Also, a walking pole/or stick might be helpful for getting around. Would love slippers (size 9.5 W).

Family 5 

Girl: 12 years old. Ladies size small. Wears size 8.5 shoes or boots and would like a curling iron.

Mom: Size 14 or XL. Wears shoes or boots size 10. Would like toiletries, bath bombs or gift cards.

Family 6

Girl: 16 years old. Would like Adidas clothing

Boy: 12 years old, has fortnight game. Would like a 2X2 Rubicks Cube, a Fitbit and red or blue thumb chucks. Likes West 49 sweats size 14-16. Wears men’s size small. 

Boy: 8 years old, wears sweats size 7, t-shirts size 8. Also has fortnight. Would like Grey Nintendo Joy-Con controller.

Mom and Dad: Asked for nothing but would appreciate gift cards.