2019 Kelly Outstanding Teaching Award winners


Foundational to the Royal Roads Learning and Teaching Model is a strong commitment to educational excellence from dedicated scholar-practitioners. The Kelly Outstanding Teaching Awards, established in 2005 and revised in 2015 to include new categories, recognizes Royal Roads faculty or associate faculty members who are outstanding teachers, and who make a positive contribution to the overall health and culture of the university. 

It gives me great pleasure to announce the recipients of the 2019 Kelly Awards.

The recipient of the Kelly Outstanding Teaching Award is Barb Stoddard. Barb, who is an associate faculty member in the School of Leadership Studies, impressed the selection committee with her alignment of philosophy and action demonstrated by: coaching, encouraging the heart, human-centered approach, transformational leadership, and caring and humility. Her use of an engaging approach to leadership and education is beautifully reflected in the student comments made in support of her nomination. Barb has also demonstrated an extensive, superb contribution to teaching and learning over an extended period. 

Doug Kerr has been chosen as recipient of the Outstanding Workshop Facilitation Award. A facilitator in Professional and Continuing Studies until his recent retirement, Doug created a distinctive legacy for RRU in the development of the Instructional Skills Workshop (ISW). We recognize how fortunate we are in benefitting from Doug’s extensive and fruitful engagement in teaching.

The awards presentation will take place Wednesday, November 27 at 10 a.m. on the Quarterdeck and via Livestream, during Campus Conversation.

The committee would also like to acknowledge all nominees in each category for their superb contributions to teaching at Royal Roads. Members of the committee carefully reviewed all submissions and, without exception, were very impressed with the quality, depth and passionate commitment to teaching evident within each of the nominees’ materials, making the task of the committee very challenging.

Many thanks to Sophia Palahicky (Chair), Mary Bernard, Jordanne Christie, Zhenyi Li, Mickie Noble, Nadine Penalagan (student representative), and Carolin Rekar Munro for serving on this year’s selection committee.

Steve Grundy
VP Academic and Provost