Dene Heroes of the Sahtu, Volume 4

Mary-Anne Neal
Volume 4, Dene Heroes of the Sahtu

The Sahtu region of the Northwest Territories consists of five fully-Indigenous communities who are working towards self-government. Under the direction of School of Business Associate Faculty member Mary-Anne Neal, the people are learning skills such as collaboration, technology, time management, interviewing, budgeting, proposal writing and related competencies. The Dene Hero project improves literacy and increases pride in the Dene heritage by honouring the courage, strength, wisdom, and resilience of the people. Contributions to the book come from youth, Elders, band leaders and community members aged 10 to 89. This is the fourth book to be published in four years. 

APTN (Aboriginal Peoples Television Network) will film the book launch celebrations in Colville Lake (January 15, 2020) and Deline (January 18, 2020). Watch for the five-part series that will be aired in February!