Winners of Kelly Teaching Awards announced


Foundational to the Royal Roads Learning and Teaching Model is a strong commitment to educational excellence from dedicated scholar-practitioners. The Kelly Outstanding Teaching Awards, established in 2005 and revised in 2015 to include new categories, recognizes Royal Roads faculty or associate faculty members who represent outstanding teaching and who make a positive contribution to the overall health and culture of the university. 

 It gives me great pleasure to announce the recipients of the 2017 Kelly Awards. 
The recipient of the Kelly Outstanding Teaching Award is Virginia McKendry. Virginia, a faculty member in the School of Communication and Culture, impressed the selection committee with her commitment to modeling the research process for students; her willingness to consider alternative viewpoints, new ideas or unconventional approaches; and her ability to help students overcome barriers to their learning process and see how far they have progressed in their learning journey.

Marnie Jull is the recipient of the New Teacher Award. Marnie, from the School of Humanitarian Studies, impressed the committee with her ability to model her skills as a conflict engagement specialist to ensure a memorable learning experience; her ability to use her listening skills to build trust and rapport with students; and her ability to effectively lead, energize and inspire others during times of stress and change.

Fiona Prince has been chosen as the recipient of the Outstanding Workshop Facilitation Award. A Professional and Continuing Studies facilitator, Fiona impressed the committee with her passion in helping students to reach their goals and overcome communication barriers; her willingness to adapt her approach to the students’ identities, backgrounds and experiences; and her ability to promote a fun and safe learning environment.  

The awards presentation will take place on Friday, Oct. 27 at 1 p.m. on the Quarterdeck during Campus Conversation.

The committee would also like to acknowledge all nominees in each category for their superb contributions to teaching at Royal Roads. Members of the committee carefully reviewed all submissions and, without exception, were very impressed with the quality, depth and passionate commitment to teaching evident within each of the nominees’ materials, making the task of the committee very challenging.

Many thanks to Mickie Noble (Chair), Zhenyi Li, Roberta Mason, Robert Mittelman, Ryan Lee and Carrie Spencer for serving on this year’s selection committee.

Steve Grundy
VP Academic and Provost